Spring Varsity Scholar-Athletes Receive NYSPHSAA Recognition

Spring Varsity Scholar-Athletes Receive NYSPHSAA Recognition

The Madison Central School District is pleased to announce that a total of twenty one spring varsity student-athletes and one spring varsity sports team have been recognized by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association for their academic achievements as part of the Association’s Spring Scholar-Athlete awards.

The awards recognize high levels of academic commitment while competing in a varsity-level sport.

To achieve team honors, at least 75 percent of a team’s roster must achieve an overall average of 90 or above during the season. The varsity golf team was able to achieve this with the following team members meeting the requirements.

Ryan Gallagher, Xavier Jones, Kyra King, Matthew Post, Jeremiah Rutkowski, Max Sykes and Garrett Weaver

An additional fourteen student-athletes were recognized with individual honors. Individual honors are awarded to deserving student-athletes not on a qualifying team who have an average of 90 or above during the season. Athletes from three athletic programs containing Madison athletes are represented among that group. They are:

Thatcher Bugbee
Michael McBride
Lucas Neff
Kyle Peavey
Rylan Smith

Alyssa Braun
Isabella Champion
Molly Eastman
Emma Godfrey
Myia Liberatore

Track and Field (Combined team with Morrisville-Eaton)
Janet Coleman
Mackenzie Cotter
Grace Lutke
Lauren Zehr