10 Inducted In Historic NTHS Class At MOBOCES

Rylee Loucks Accepts Her Induction Certificate

Rylee Loucks Accepts Her Induction Certificate

The Madison Central School District is pleased to announce that ten members of the Class of 2024 have been inducted to the Madison-Oneida BOCES chapter of the National Technical Honor Society. The honor was made official in a ceremony held on Wednesday, March 27th at the Vernon Verona Sherrill High School Auditorium.

NTHS is an honor society recognizing exceptional student achievement in career and technical education. To be eligible for membership, students must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average in their CTE program and their high school. Accepted members must also participate in extracurricular activities at BOCES and/or their home school, demonstrate exceptional character, and carry the endorsement of their CTE teacher. They must also exemplify and uphold the NTHS values, consisting of knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship, and leadership. NTHS membership is a distinction achieved by less than five percent of CTE students nationwide.

Madison’s representatives were part of a historic induction class for the MOBOCES Chapter. The Chapter inducted a record 146 new members, and for the first time, every senior-level Career and Technical Education program had an inductee recognized in the same ceremony.

The occasion was also special for one member of the Madison Central School community. Richard Engelbrecht, a 1963 graduate of Madison, was honored by the chapter with an honorary lifetime membership. Engelbrecht is the current MOBOCES Board of Education President, and has represented Madison on the board for over 50 years. He started his time on the MOBOCES Board in 1972 and was on the Madison Central School District Board of Education prior to his current post. 

Congratulations to the following students on their induction!

Mackenzie Cotter – Allied Health Partnership
Simarah Samson Davall – Automotive Collision Repair
Charles Jordan, Shawn Murray & Maxwell Sykes – Conservation
McKenzie LaMunion & Rylee Loucks – Equine & Animal Science
Malloy Brouillette – HVAC
Olivia Crane – New Visions Advanced Health Science
Lauren Zehr – Cosmetology