Four Inducted Into NJHS

Tyler Cotter, Elijah Zbock, and Lillian Kazlauskas

On Thursday, June 1st, the Madison Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society held its 2023 induction ceremony in the Madison Central School auditorium. 

This year's induction class included seventh grade students Tyler Cotter and Elijah Zbock, and eighth graders Lillian Kazlauskas and Lucas Neff. Unfortunately, Lucas is not pictured to the right because he was unavailable to attend the ceremony. 

The National Junior Honor Society is an organization that celebrates a student’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. Per the organization, chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service. The society’s membership consists of about one million students nationwide from seventh through ninth grades.

Membership is highly selective, with the honor reserved for the highest achieving students in each class. To become a member, a student must maintain a grade point average of 90 or above, display good citizenship, and participate in community service activities.

As with its parent organization, the National Honor Society, the NJHS Madison Chapter is advised by Mr. Joe Burdick.